Maryland House and Garden Pilgrimage
maryland house and garden pilgimage

TALBOT COUNTY

SATURDAY, MAY 12, 2012
10 am to 5 pm

Special Project:  Proceeds from the Talbot County Tour will be used to support the civic projects of the Talbot County Garden Club: The Frances Plate Memorial Children’s Garden, Idlewild Park; Garden Therapy at Talbot Hospice House; Historical Society of Talbot County Garden, including the Huxley Herb Garden; Easton Mayor & Council Building Gardens; Villa Fountain Five Corners Garden; Talbot County Free Library gardens; Talbot County Roadside Historical Markers; Young Gardeners of the Talbot County Garden Club.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~HISTORY~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Talbot County, named in honor of Lady Grace, wife of Sir Robert Talbot and sister ofCecilius Calvert, second Lord Baltimore, was settled by the English about 1660 and still retains much of its 18th Century atmosphere and architecture.  The Chesapeake Bay and five navigable rivers: Wye, Tred Avon, Choptank, Miles and Tuckahoe provide more than 600 miles of picturesque waterfront, creating a fertile land of rich and lasting beauty.  The early manor houses along the creeks and bays face the waters that brought guests and trade from many lands. Easton, once “Talbot Town” became the county seat by Act of Legislature in 1778.  Some of the early political and legal history of the United States was made in Talbot County, which is justifiably proud of its historic associations and of the loving restoration and preservation of so many of its prominent houses, outstanding public buildings and handsome boxwood gardens.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ DIRECTIONS ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

ROUTES FROM BALTIMORE: East on Rt. 50 across the Chesapeake Bay Bridge. South on Rt. 50 to Rt. 322 (Easton Parkway).  Bear right and go 2.0 miles to 4th traffic light. Turn left on to Rt. 33 East (Bay Street).  Proceed 0.5 miles to traffic light at Washington Street. Turn right 0.2 miles to the Historical Society of Talbot County on right adjacent to the municipal parking lot.

FROM WASHINGTON, D.C.:  Rt. 50 East across the Chesapeake Bay Bridge, then same as above.

FROM WILMINGTON & PHILADELPHIA: Interstate 95 South to Rt. 1 South (Christiana Mall exit). Take Rt. 299 West (Middletown) to Rt. 301 South. Continue on Rt. 301 to Rt. 213, exit turning left onto Rt. 213. Follow Rt. 213 to Rt. 50. Turn left on to Rt. 50 at the traffic light. Continue on Rt. 50 to Rt. 322 (Easton Parkway), then same as above.
 
FROM SALISBURY AND NORFOLK: Route 13 North to Salisbury; then Route 50 West to Easton. Exit left on to Route 322 (Easton Parkway). At the third traffic light turn right on to Rt. 33 East (Bay Street). Proceed 0.5 miles to traffic light at Washington Street. Turn right 0.2 miles to the Historical Society of Talbot County on right. Parking is available in municipal lot adjacent to the Society building.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ LUNCH ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

A delicious box lunch, including drink and dessert, will be available at Scott’s United Methodist Church, 3748 Main Street, Trappe, MD, between 10:00 and 2:00 by reservation only. The cost is $15 per person, and your check will be your reservation. Please mail your check to the Talbot County Garden Club, P.O. Box 1524, Easton, MD 21601. Luncheon must be reserved by May 5, 2012.  Please call Jody Shaner at 410-770-3002 if you have questions. In the event advance reservations have not been possible, Pilgrims will find restaurants in Trappe.
 

tourschedule

GARDENS OF THE HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF TALBOT COUNTY:

Information Headquarters: Historical Society of Talbot County Auditorium, 17 South Washington Street, Easton. Parking is available in the municipal lot adjacent to the
Society or on Washington Street. Phone: 410-822-0773. Auditorium will be open only 10:00 AM until 2:00 PM the day of the tour. Tickets, Tour Books, and other Talbot County information will be available here. In addition, tickets will be available at all sites except #2 and #10 ( also the lunch stop). Note: Restrooms available.

The Society’s gardens may be entered through the North Terrace on Washington Street. The hand-wrought iron gate was designed to complement the Charleston gate at the far end of the garden and incorporates the Society’s “star” logo. This charming garden was designed with the assistance of garden designer Gordon Hayward to create a beautiful public entrance to the larger garden. It includes dwarf boxwood, spring and fall blooming camellias, oak leaf hydrangeas and native Sweet Bay magnolias. The adjoining picket fence was designed after the Chase-Lloyd House fence in Annapolis. The Nettie Jones Garden has rectangular beds and intersecting axes as is typical of classical garden design in the 17th and 18th Centuries. The recently renovated Alice D. Huxley Herb Garden in the right rear corner features plants that might have been used during the colonial period.

 
border

ACADEMY ART MUSEUM

The original building was completed in 1820 and was home to the first chartered school in Easton.  Over the years it has been a funeral home, an antique store and part of the current enlarged building was a private residence.  The Museum has become the cultural hub of the Eastern Shore for art, music and educational programming.  Today your Pilgrimage ticket will enable you to enter without additional fee and to enjoy the exhibit “Excavating the Wye House Gardens.”  Wye House, once an estate of 25,000 acres just outside of what is now Easton, and on which Frederick Douglass lived as a slave, was built in 1790 by Edward Lloyd IV and is still owned and occupied by his descendants. Note: restrooms available.
 

border

THE GARDENS OF JOE WEEMS

From the granite “Stonehenge” welcome at the driveway to the whimsical “bottle tree,” follies, and salvaged antique iron accents throughout the one-and-a-half-acre property the visitor is led through a horticulturalist’s dream.  Passing from garden room to garden room, the mood changes from that of a country garden to an Oriental garden to a meadow and pond dominated by a giant dragonfly.  The farm, orchard and dedicated gardens with old-fashioned flowers such as irises and peonies have given way to gardens filled with hellebores (yellows are a favorite here), camellias, hydrangeas, ferns and many unusual specimen plants.  Wander over to the meadow by crossing the garden bridge, inspired by a garden pergola at the Japanese Embassy in Brussels, Belgium, in the same rosy color.  Another garden room featuring a circular peony garden and towering crape myrtle whose dark trunks are silhouetted against the deep green leaves of an old American holly. 

border

 

CHLORAS POINT FARM

Located at the tip of Island Creek Neck, Chloras Point Farm has had an ideal location in rural Talbot County since the 1700’s. A lagoon in front of the house, protected from the broad Choptank River by sand spit with a narrow opening, creates a private harbor.  The farm is named after Clora O’Dora, who bought the property from the Lloyds in June 1666.  The home has changed and grown considerably since it was built in the 1700’s.  The dining room, located on the south side, is part of the original structure, with some of the original brickwork still intact.  Special attention is paid to multiple natural and created textures throughout the home with muted shades of grays, beige and white.  Salvaged barn siding was installed on the cathedral ceilings in the family room, screened porch and the pool cabana. 

border





 

 THE WILDERNESS

Located on a broad expanse of the Choptank River, The Wilderness was a small part of Lloyds Long Point, patented by Edward Lloyd in January 1660. Its 350 year history serves as a reflection of the early land expansion, gradual decline, and rebirth of Talbot County.  Since 1967, the owners have carefully restored the Colonial and Federal period house, a large barn (once in danger of falling), a derelict slave cabin, as well as various smaller barns and dependencies.  The property has been placed in a conservation easement with the Eastern Shore Land Conservancy.  Explore this timeless property where surprises are around every corner, including a swimming pool, a croquet court, a putting green, and two life-size 13th century Korean funeral sculptures. 


Restrooms Available at this stop.
 

border

HAMPDEN

Large tracts of land along the Choptank River were granted by the British Crown in the 1660s to those brave enough to tackle the challenges of settling where no white man had ever lived.  One such tract, Hir Dir Lloyd (later spelled Hyer Dyer Lloyd) encompassed more than three thousand acres, including all of the Oxford Neck and Trappe.  From that grant, Thomas Martin, a gentleman born in Dorsetshire, England, acquired 200 acres and in 1663 built a one room house on La Trappe Creek. Between 1663 and 1705 when he died, Martin built what remains unchallenged as the first brick house in Talbot County—Hampden.  The general shape of the original house is a “saltbox,” a square building with a steeply pitched roof and a fireplace.  That one room, occupied by the whole family, served as kitchen, living room and bedroom.  That original house is still used today, as the den off the dining room, and the front door remains where it was originally. In 1750 the house was enlarged to include a living room, central hallway and a dining room.  In the 1840s a kitchen was attached to one end of the house. 

border

LA TRAPPE CREEK FARM

Nestled on the shore of picturesque La Trappe Creek, this Georgian-style colonial home on twenty acres was completely transformed in 2007-2008 by the current owners.  Approaching along the tree-lined drive, visitors are struck by the beauty of the grounds and ponds filled with water lilies.  Once inside, the visitor is surrounded by wonderful views of La Trappe Creek with the owners’ blue water sailboat at the dock.  This deep water creek, formerly called Dividing Creek, has some of the oldest properties in Talbot County and was once part of the Underground Railway. The indoor swimming pool suggests a Roman spa, with views of the Natchez crape myrtle bed in front and extensive brick walks and patio to the rear.  The lower level has a casual media room and an in-law suite with its private creek-side entrance.

border

NEW TRAPPE LANDING FARM

When bought this 120-acre property came with a solidly built but neglected old farm house on the banks of La Trappe Creek, a tributary of the Choptank. Owners redecorated and improved the farmhouse in many ways, adding porches and 120 trees.  After living in it a few years as an escape from Washington, the couple decided to make it a permanent home and build an addition to house their collections of antiques and furnishings. Family research based on historic tax maps found that there was a building on the exact place on the river with the same dimensions as the current one dating to 1794. From the front of the house it was possible to see the steamboats coming and going between Trappe Landing and Kirby’s Wharf between 1823 and 1881. 

border

GRANVILLE LANE

The concept for the design of this charming waterfront home at the headwaters of historic La Trappe Creek was influenced in part by the works of English architect Edwin Lutyens (1869-1944) and the fact that the owners, who were living in England at the time they met their architect, expressed a love of English Country Cottages. The resulting design features the steep, gabled roofs of Queen Anne style, windows of classic English proportions and rhythms, and detailing reminiscent of the American Shingle Style of the late 18th and early 19th Centuries. Although you can see the water from every room in the house, it is the sun porch, living room and library that take full advantage of the water views through towering walls of windows.  Outside on the generous flagstone patio one looks over an array of flower-filled pots to raised beds of boxwood and on out to La Trappe Creek. 

border

SCOTT’S UNITED METHODIST CHURCH

The original church structure, dating back to the 17th Century, belonged to the Quakers of the Trappe area.  In 1867 they joined the Friends Meeting in Easton and turned the building over to the African American community of Trappe.  The church, named for Bishop Levi Scott, has been a vital part of the growth of the community. The present structure still has the original windows in the sanctuary.  Displayed in the building are items describing the church’s rich history, including information about Nathaniel “Nace” Hopkins, one of the founders of Scott’s United Methodist Church 142 years ago.  “Nace” was a Civil War veteran and leader in Trappe’s black community and built the town’s first black school.  Each year “Nace’s Day” is observed in the Trappe community to celebrate the emancipation of Maryland’s slaves.  Note: Restrooms available.
 

 

Baltimore City: Bolton Hill | St Marys  | Talbot  | Howard  | Anne Arundel (North)




Maryland House and Garden Pilgrimage Headquarters
6200 N. Charles Street  | Baltimore, MD 21212 | 410.821.6933

Twitter: @
MarylandHGP      Facebook      Linkedin