To see this year’s tour pages click here
Sunday May 2, 2010 — 10 am to 5 pm
Rain or Shine
This expansive, beautiful and well preserved three-part stone house with colorful gardens in back is considered the oldest surviving house in Montgomery County. The east wing of the house is purported to have been built around 1700 as a Dutch trading post and tavern. Nathan Loughborough, U. S. Comptroller of the Treasury under President John Adams, bought the house and expanded it in 1847 to add the main block and west wing in celebration of his second marriage.
2. SCOTLAND A.M.E. ZION CHURCH,
The church congregation will celebrate its 105th birthday this September. In the early years, the congregation met in houses in the Scotland Community nearby. Construction on the current building began in 1914. The church has survived encroaching development and the widening of Seven Locks Road to remain an active place of worship and a community meeting place. The Scotland church building, particularly the historic rear section, is uniquely representative of the style of vernacular architecture of African-American churches in the early 1900s. Pilgrims are encouraged to arrive at this site between 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. to hear Scotland's renowned choir perform original and classic hymns.
Photograph courtesy of M-NCPPC / Montgomery County Dept. of Parks,
3. JOSIAH HENSON SITE (formerly called the Ripley Farm/Uncle Tom's Cabin),
This site is an historic resource of local, state, national, and international significance because of its association with Reverend Josiah Henson whose 1849 autobiography inspired Harriet Beecher Stowe's landmark novel, Uncle Tom's Cabin. The existing frame building possibly dates to the late 18th century and was the home of Isaac Riley. The log wing was used as a kitchen in the early 20th century. The site had been in private hands for its entire history until it was acquired by the Montgomery County Department of Parks, part of the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, in January 2006.
4. CLAGETT FARMHOUSE,
The Clagett Farmhouse, built around 1922, still stands as a lasting testament to the once sprawling Clagett estate which dated back to the 1600s and extended along both sides of South Glen Road. The current owners of the house have pursued restoration rather than renovation, seeking to maintain the home in its original condition. The residence is surrounded by townhouse developments and is easily overlooked, tucked away off the well-traveled road. The house's interior features many of the furnishings popular in that day and has been adorned with interesting collections by the current owners.
5. EDWARD BEALE HOUSE,
The residence, built in 1938, is an excellent example of the Colonial Revival style of home that became popular with white-collar professionals and their young families who moved from Washington, D.C. to Montgomery County to partake in weekend farming and fox hunting. The house was the centerpiece overlooking the 500 acre estate of Colonel Edward Beale, patent attorney and engineer, and Ruth Eshelman Beale, who worked for the U. S. Postmaster General. Patterned after the style of farmhouses found in southeastern Pennsylvania, the house includes many interesting and noteworthy features such as 19-inch thick block stone walls and unique panes and shutters. It remains largely unchanged since it was built, including the attached garage.
6. PINEY SPRING FARM-THE CORNER HOUSE, 11725 PINEY MEETING HOUSE ROAD
The original, six-room house on this property was built by the farmer who owned land on both sides of Piney Meeting House Road. He built it for his daughter Susan Creamer. Additions in keeping with the simplicity of the farmhouse have been made over the years to accommodate an active, growing family. The center part of the house dates back to 1870. It is furnished with early American antiques, including an extensive miniatures collection. There is an interesting display of artwork by local artists reflecting some of Potomac's landmarks in a variety of artistic styles.
7. JOHN MCDONALD HOUSE,
The McDonald House, which dates back to the early 1870s, is considered a fine example of the late 19th century two-story farmhouses that once populated Montgomery County. Captain John McDonald, a Civil War veteran and prominent local politician and community activist, built the house around 1873. He is best known for changing the name of the community to Potomac. The house has been beautifully restored, including reconstruction of a three-bay front porch and restoration of the center cross gable.
Maryland House and Garden Pilgrimage Headquarters
3 Church Circle Suite 190 | Annapolis, MD 21401 | 410.821.6933
Twitter: @MarylandHGP Facebook Linkedin